Indian Priest? Ya, He’s My Friend

Facebook logo
Image via Wikipedia

By M. Alexander

I lose my phone a few times a year.  The first couple of times that this happened, I was devastated.  All of my friends’ numbers were lost forever.  How would I keep in touch with Chapman, who lives in Ghana, or Chris, who lives across the country in Connecticut? These are not people I speak with every day or even every week, but I like to have the opportunity to contact them on a whim. Why didn’t I back-up my numbers or write them down in a notebook?

Now I have Facebook.  I do not need their numbers because I have a way to contact them.  A priest I met in India two years ago just added me as a friend.  Is he someone that I’ve ever had an urge to talk to after I left the subcontinent? No.  But maybe he has thought about me; maybe he has a student who is coming to America and needs some advice.  I would be more than happy to help him.  Maybe I have a friend who is planning to go to India.  It is incredible that we can contact each other in a second, at absolutely no cost.

Maybe I am behind the times; maybe I am not a modern man that just accepts technological advancements as the norm.  I think Facebook is fascinating even though I’ve had it for four years.  I am still enthralled with TiVo…and television for that matter.  How do they get the picture from the studio to my room?  Insane.

I do not take Facebook for granted.  I am not on it all day, I am not addicted, but with my iPhone, it is always in my pocket if I need it. I have a thousand friends, connections, and romances at my fingertips.  It is easy to take life as it comes, to not stop and look at the beauty and appreciate the wonder.  However, a key to my happiness is to live in what Heschel calls “radical amazement”, because the world we live in and specifically social technology is truly amazing.

Enhanced by Zemanta
This entry was posted in Facebook and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

